MVPs All-Star Game


  • 50 players have won the MVP trophy in the NBA All-Star Game. By conferences, East teams have 35 trophies and West 32.
  • In the historical franchises, the MVP distribution is leveled. Boston Celtics have 8, Lakers 7 (and 3 more shared, one of them while in Minneapolis) and Philadelphia 7 more. But neither of them has won the MVP award in three consecutive NBA All-Star Games.
  • This honor is for the Cincinnati Royals, who won the MVP player title between 19641966 with 3 different players.
  • Bob Pettit and Kobe Bryant are the only players who have 4 NBA All-Star MVP’s.
  • Oscar Robertson, Michael Jordan, LeBron James and Shaquille O’Neal share the third position with 3.
  • There are 7 players with 2 MVP’s: Bob Cousy, Julius Erving, Isiah Thomas, Karl Malone, Magic Johnson, Allen Iverson and Russell Westbrook.
  • Only Bob Pettit (1958 & 1959) and Russell Westbrook (2015 & 2016) have been able to win the MVP in consecutive games.
  • In four editions, 2 players have shared the MVP trophy: Bryant & O’Neal (2009), Duncan & O’Neal (2000), Stockton & Malone (1993) and Baylor & Pettit (1959)
  • In three occasions, the MVP went to a player who did not win the game: Bob Pettit (1958), Julius Erving (1977) and Magic Johnson (1990).
  • 12 players were named MVP after starting the game from the bench: Bill Sharman (1955), Bob Pettit (1956), Adrian Smith (1966), Hal Greer (1968), Lenny Wilkens (1971), Bob Lanier (1974), Randy Smith (1978), Nate Archibald (1981), Mitch Richmond (1995), Glen Rice (1997), Shaquille O’Neal 2 times (2004 and 2009) and Russell Westbrook (2015).


All Pages